|
Abbeville Alexandria Amite Arcadia Bastrop Baton Rouge Bernice Bogalusa Chalmette Columbia Coushatta Covington Crowley DeRidder Delhi Destrehan Donaldsonville Eunice Fort Polk Franklin Franklinton French Settlement Gibsland Gilliam Golden Meadow Gonzales Gramercy Gretna Hammond Harvey Houma Jena Jennings Jonesboro Kaplan Kenner LaPlace Lacombe Lafayette Lake Charles Lake Providence Leesville Livingston Lockport Luling Madisonville Mansfield Many Marksville Marthaville Metairie Minden Monroe Morgan City Natchitoches New Iberia New Orleans New Roads Oberlin Oil City Opelousas Pineville Plaquemine Port Allen Rayville Ruston Shreveport St. Benedict St. Francisville St. Martinville Sulphur Tallulah Thibodaux Ville Platte Winnfield Winnsboro Zachary |
Louisiana Archives and Manuscripts Association LAMA D IRECTORY: A Guide to Institutions in Louisiana Holding Genealogical and Historical Records Collections
In 1984 the Friends of the Louisiana Archives published a directory to archival repositories in Louisiana. The booklet listed just academic and large public or private collections. In 1993 the Society of Southwest Archivists published a directory to archival repositories in its six state region: Arkansas, Arizona, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Alfred Lemmon, who compiled the entries for Louisiana, gathered information on more repositories than had appeared in the earlier guide. However, the new directory did not include many smaller repositories in the state which could be invaluable sources of material for local historians and genealogists. The SSA guide also did not include newer communication contact points such as e-mail addresses or Internet URL's. Therefore the Louisiana Archives and Manuscripts Association [the successor organization to the Friends of the Louisiana Archives] decided to support the compilation of a more detailed guide. This volume is designed to assist genealogists as well as historians and other researchers. Some of the smaller associations list no archival holdings but are included as a contact point for those interested in the history or families of a particular locality. Addresses of the Clerk of Court for each parish are included in a separate listing since those offices contain so many documents of interest to people researching Louisiana subjects. This guide only lists Louisiana repositories. Much research material on the state is located elsewhere: the Library of Congress, the National Archives; the Southwest Branch of the National Archives [Ft. Worth, TX]; the Center for American History at the University of Texas-Austin; the Southern Historical Collection at the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; etc. These repositories are not included in this guide. As with all guides such as this one, the information is often out-dated by the time it is published. Personnel changes occur constantly. One other change of note: the area code for the Baton Rouge area has recently changed. The co-editors would like to thank several people for their invaluable assistance in preparing this work: David Guillory, Frazar Memorial Library, McNeese State University, ploughed through Library of Congress Subject Headings to determine the proper subject entries. Carol Casey, Edith Garland Dupre Library, University of Southwestern Louisiana helped in explicating computer program idiosyncracies. The Louisiana Archives and Manuscripts Association hope that this guide will be useful to all people interested in studying any aspect of the past in Louisiana by pointing them towards repositories which might have relevant resources.
Comments on the guide can be sent to Bruce Turner. ||| Corrections or additions can be sent to Irene Wainwright. Arrangement Repositories are arranged by city/town and then alphabetically by name of parent institution if applicable . Each entry contains the following categories:
1. Name of parent organization if different from repository |
Abbeville
1. Vermilion Genealogical Society
2. *
3. P.O. Box 117
4. *
5. Abbeville
6. LA
7. 70511-0117
8. (318) 893-1363
9. (318) 893-4965
10. *
11. *
12. Mary P. Broussard
13. Secretary
14. Genealogical records, especially cemetery
15. Books/serials; cemetery records
16. Records researched in Vermilion Parish Court House; also has Echos of the Past, v. 1-10
1. Vermilion Historical Society
2. *
3. c/o Gary E. Theall
4. P.O. Box 877
5. Abbeville
6. LA
7. 70511-0877
8. (318) 893-7142
9. (318) 893-4908
10 76462.1276@compuserve.com
11. *
12. Gary E. Theall
13. Secretary-Treasurer
14. Vermilion Parish
15. Artifacts; books/serials; family histories; photographs
1. Vermilion Parish Police Jury
2. Vermilion Parish Library
3. P.O. Drawer 640
4. *
5. Abbeville
6. LA
7. 70511
8. (318) 893-2655
9. (318) 898-0526
10. xxx1136@ucs.usl.edu
11. *
12 Jackie Choate
13. Director
14. Genealogy and local history
15. Books/serials
Back to the top
Alexandria
1. Alexandria Historical and Genealogical Library and Museum
2. *
3. 503 Washington
4. *
5. Alexandria
6. LA
7. 71301
8. (318) 487-8556
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. A. S. Kraushaar
13. President
14. Spanish colonial records; census records for adjacent states
15. Books/serials; government records; maps; photographs
1. Louisiana Baptist Convention
2. Mae Lee Memorial Library and Archives
3. P.O. Box 311
4. *
5. Alexandria
6. LA
7. 71309-0311
8. (318) 448-3402
9. (318) 445-0055
10. LBC_Karon@linknet.net
11. *
12. Karon Smith
13. Archivist
14. Louisiana Baptist Convention history
15. Church records; organization records
1. Louisiana Department of Recreation and Tourism
2. Kent Plantation House
3. 3601 Bayou Rapides Road
4. *
5. Alexandria
6. LA
7. 71301
8. (318) 487-5998
9. (318) 487-5998
10. *
11. *
12. Billy King
13. Marketing Director
14. Furnishings and tools before 1855
15. Maps; oral histories; photographs
1. Louisiana State University at Alexandria
2. James C. Bolton Library
3. 8100 Highway 71 South
4. *
5. Alexandria
6. LA
7. 71302-9121
8. (318) 473-6437
9. (318) 473-6556
10. aburns@pc01.lsua.edu
11. *
12. Dr. Anna Burns
13. *
14. Local history; university records
15. Books/serials; institution records; manuscript collections; pamphlets/ephemera; photographs
1. Rapides Parish Library
2. *
3. 411 Washington Street
4. *
5. Alexandria
6. LA
7. 71301-8338
8. (318) 442-1840
9. (318) 445-6438
10. dietertl@alpha.nsula.edu
11. *
12, Linda Dietert
13. Reference Coordinator
14. Central Louisiana
15. Maps; media
Back to the top
Amite
1. St. Helena Historical Association
2. *
3. Route 1, Box 131
4. *
5. Amite
6. LA
7. 70422
8. (318) 777-4365
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Inez B. Tate
13. President
14.
15.
16. Publications: index to U.S. census for parish, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910; cemetery listing;
list of veterans from parish, work taken from oral history interviews with WW II veterans
Back to the top
Arcadia
1. Bienville Parish Library
2. *
3. 2768 Maple Street
4. *
5. Arcadia
6. LA
7. 71001-3699
8. (318) 263-7410
9. (318) 263-7428
10. bvlib1@bienville.lib.la.us
11. *
12. Mrs. Joyce Lilly
13. Director
14. Bienville Parish
15. Books/serials
Back to the top
Bastrop
1. Snyder Memorial Museum and Creative Arts Center
2. *
3. 1620 E. Madison Avenue
4. *
5. Bastrop
6. LA
7. 71220
8. (318) 281-8760
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Joni H. Noble
13. Director
14. Morehouse Parish genealogy and history; Native American artifacts
15. Genealogical records; maps; photographs
Back to the top
Baton Rouge
1. Baton Rouge Morning Advocate
2. Library
3. P.O. Box 588
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70821-0588
8. (225) 388-0327
9. (225) 388-0329
10. jarnold@theadvocate.com
11. http://www.theadvocate.com
12. Jill Arnold
13. Library Director
14. Baton Rouge [La.] - history
15. Newspapers
16. "Our archive is not open to the public, although we do help patrons
over the phone
if time permits. If they need an extensive search, we charge a
fee or refer them to our public library."
1. Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge
2. Archives
3. 1800 South Acadian Thruway
4. P.O. Box 2028
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70821
8. (225) 387-0561
9. (225) 336-8789
10. *
11. *
12, Mrs. Una F. Daigre
13. Archivist
14. Records of the Baton Rouge Catholic Diocese
15. Books/serials; church records; pamphlets/ephemera; photographs
16. Sacramental registers from parish churches
1. East Baton Rouge Parish Library
2. Centroplex Branch
3. 120 St. Louis Street
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70821
8. (225) 389-4960
9. (225) 231-3759
10. aabraham@ebr.lib.la.us
11. *
12. Mrs. Andi Abraham
13. Branch Librarian
14. Baton Rouge; East Baton Rouge Parish
15. Books/serials; government records; manuscript collections; maps; newspapers; oral history; organizational
records; photographs; scrapbooks
1. East Baton Rouge Parish Library
2. Main Branch
3. 7711 Goodwood Boulevard
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70806
8. (225) 231-3750
9. (225) 231-3759
10. cflint@ebr.lib.la.us
11. *
12 Carolyn Flint
13. Head of Reference Services
14. Baton Rouge
15. Books/serials; pamphlets/ephemera
1. East Baton Rouge Parish Library, Blue Bonnet Regional Branch
2. Genealogy Library
3. 9200 Bluebonnet Boulevard
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70810
8. (225) 763-2283
9. (225) 231-3759
10. jmyers@ebr.lib.la.us
11. *
12. Jeanell Myers
13. Librarian
14. Genealogy
15. Books/serials; family histories; manuscript collections; media
16. Holdings include unpublished family research compiled and donated by individual genealogists.
1. East Baton Rouge Park and Recreation Commission
2. Magnolia Mound
3. 2161 Nicholson Drive
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70802
8. (225) 343-4955
9. (225) 343-6739
10. *
11. *
12. Gwen Edwards
13. Director
14. Baton Rouge and Louisiana history; Duplantier and
15. Government documents (copies), manuscripts (copies)
1. Foundation for Historical Louisiana
2. *
3. 900 North Blvd.
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70802
8. *
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Carolyn Bennett
13. Director
14. Clipping file
15. Pamphlets/ephemera; photographs
1. Louisiana Arts and Science Center
2. *
3. P.O. Box 3373
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70821
8. (225) 344-5272 ext. 14
9. (225) 344-9477
10. *
11. *
12. Maia Jalenak
13. Museum Curator
14. Andrew Lytle photographs
15. Photographs
16. Other collections of Lytle photographs at Hill Memorial Library,
LSU and at the Louisiana State Archives
1. Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism
2. Louisiana Division of Historical Preservation
3. P.O. Box 44247
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70804
8. (225) 342-8160
9. (225) 342-8173
10. hp@crt.state.la.us
11. http://www.crt.state.la.us/crt/ocd/hp/ocdhp.htm
12. contact division to be directed to proper person depending on
interest
13. *
14. Architecture materials; historic buildings
15. Architectural records; maps; photographs
16. Survey of 50 plus year old buildings by parish [about half completed, May, 1998];
landmark forms will be available on website soon.
1. Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism
2. Louisiana Office of State Parks
3. 1051 North 3rd Street
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70802
8. (225) 342-8111
9. (225) 342-8107
10. *
11. *
12. Raymond Berthelot
13. Interpretive Program Developer
14. History and culture of Louisiana
15. Manuscript collections [family papers], maps, oral histories, pamphlets/ephemera,
photographs
16. A variety of research collections located at each state park. [See entries in this guide under individual
sites.]
1. Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of Cultural
Development
2. Louisiana Division of Archeology
3. P.O. Box 44247
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70804
8. (225) 342-8170
9. (225) 342-8173
10. arch@crt.state.la.us
11. http://www.crt.state.la.us/crt/ocd/arch/homepage/index.htm
12. Dr. Thomas H. Eubanks
13. State Archeologist
14. Information on archeological sites
15. Archeological site records; computer databases
16. Restricted to researchers with legitimate interests. Free
archeology booklets available to general public.
1. Louisiana Secretary of State, Office of
2. Louisiana Archives and Records Division
3. 3851 Essen Lane
4. P.O. Box 94125
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70804-9125
8. (225) 922-1206; (225) 922-0104
9. (225) 922-0002
10. lemieu#d.lasos@sec.state.la.us
11. http://www.sec.la.us
12. Donald Limeux
13. Director of Archives and Records Management
14. Louisiana State Administrative Records
15. Books/serials; government records; institution records; manuscript collections; maps;
media [film/videotapes]; oral histories; pamphlets/ephemera; photographs
1. Louisiana Secretary of State, Office of
2. Louisiana Old State Capitol; Center for Political and Governmental
History
3. 100 North Blvd. at River Road
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70801
8. (225) 342-0500
9. (225) 342-0316
10. *
11. *
12. Mary Louise Prudhomme; Sandra Hotard
13. Director; Archivist
14. Louisiana history and politics
15. Artifacts, media [film and tapes], oral histories, photographs
1. Louisiana State University School of Law
2. Louisiana State University Law Center Library
3. East Campus Drive
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70803-1010
8. (225) 388-4042
9. (225) 388-5773
10. *
11. *
12 Charlotte Melius
13. Head of Public Services
14. History of Louisiana legal education
15. Institution records; microforms
1. Louisiana State University at Baton Rouge
2. Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections
3. Hill Memorial Library
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70803-3300
8. (225) 334-6568; (225) 388-6501
9. (225) 334-1695
10. notvfp@unix1.sncc.lsu.edu
11. http://www.lib.lsu.edu/special/
12 currently vacant; Faye Phillips
13. Curator, Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collection; Assistant Director for
Special Collections
14. Research materials on all aspects of Louisiana history
15. Books/serials; government records; institution records; manuscript collections; maps;
media; oral histories; pamphlets/ephemera; photographs; vertical files; other
1. Louisiana State University, School of Human Ecology
2. LSU Textile and Costume Gallery and Historic Collection
3. Louisiana State University
4. Textile and Costume Gallery
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70803
8. (225) 388-2281
9. (225) 388-2697
10. textile@unix1.sncc.lsu.edu
11. http://sun.huec.lsu.edu/homepage.html
12. Dr. Jenna T. Kuttruff
13. Curator
14. Textiles and apparel
15. Art work; artifacts; books/serials; patterns
16. Collection contains items related to textile and apparel production, use, and care.
1. Public Affairs Research Council of Louisiana
2. *
3. P.O. Box 14776
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70898-4776
8. (225) 926-8414
9. (225) 926-8417
10. huey96@com.aol
11. *
12. Ty Keller
13. Senior Research Associate
14. State and local government; state legislature
15. Books/serials; pamphlets/ephemera
1. Southern University at Baton Rouge
2. John B. Cade Library
3. *
4. *
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70813
8. (225) 771-2854
9. (225) 771-4113
10. Ledell@SUBRVM.SUBR.EDU
11. *
12. Mrs. Ledell B. Smith
13. Archivist
14. Southern University records
15. Books/serials; institution records; manuscript collections; pamphlets/ephemera; photographs
1. State Library of Louisiana
2. Louisiana Section
3. 760 N. Third Street
4. P.O. Box 131
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70821
8. (225) 342-4914
9. (225) 342-3547
10. ladept@pelican.state.lib.la.us
11. http://smt.state.lib.la.us/index.html
12. Judy Smith
13. Head of Louisiana Section
14. Louisiana
15. Books/serials; maps; media; pamphlets/ephemera; photographs
16. Complete historical depository of Louisiana state documents
1. Woman's Health Foundation
2. Woman's Hospital Medical Library
3. P.O. Box 95009
4. 9050 Airline Highway
5. Baton Rouge
6. LA
7. 70895-9009
8. (225) 924-8202
9. (225) 924-8467
10. libggm@womans.com
11. http://www.womans.com
12. Gay G. Middleton
13. Director of Library Services
14. Resources related to women's health, lifestyle, and special interests
15. Books/serials; institution records; newspapers; photographs; scrapbooks
Back to the top
Bernice
1. Bernice Historical Society
2. Bernice Depot Museum and Captain Henderson Caboose
3. P.O. Box 186
4. *
5. Bernice
6. LA
7. 71222
8. (318) 285-9071 [Town Hall]
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. *
13. *
14. Union Parish, Town of Bernice, and Rock Island Railroad
15. Artifacts, maps, manuscript collections, newspapers, oral histories, pamphlets/ephemera, photographs
Back to the top
Bogalusa
1. Washington Parish Library, Bogalusa Branch
2. *
3. 304 Avenue F
4. *
5. Bogalusa
6. LA
7. 70427
8. (504) 735-1961
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Emmett Guy
13. Branch Librarian
14. Washington Parish and Bogalusa genealogy and history
15. Books/serials; microforms; photographs
Back to the top
Chalmette
1. Nunez Community College
2. Archives
3. 3700 LaFontaine St.
4. *
5. Chalmette
6. LA
7. 70043
8. (504) 278-7440, ext. 244
9. (504) 278-7484
10. mcurtis@nunez.cc.la.us
11. http://www.nunez.cc.la.us
12. Meredith Curtis
13. Librarian
14. Canary Islanders - St. Bernard Parish [La.]
15. Books/serials; institution records; manuscript collections; maps; media; newspapers;
oral history; photographs; realia
Back to the top
Columbia
1. Caldwell Parish Library
2. *
3. P.O. Box 1499
4. *
5. Columbia
6. LA
7. 71418-1499
8. (318) 649-2259
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Sue Childers
13. Librarian
14. Lumbering - Caldwell Parish [La.]
15. Oral history
16. Oral history tapes from residents of the saw mill town of Clarks, LA.
1. Louisiana Art and Folk Festival Museum
2. *
3. P.O. Box 196
4. Martin Place Lane
5. Columbia
6. LA
7. 71418
8. (318) 649-6722
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Gay B. Phillips
13. Director
14. Caldwell Parish history; Martin Homeplace (c. 1878)
15. Artifacts, books/serials
Back to the top
Coushatta
1. Red River Parish Library
2. *
3. P.O. Box 1367
4. *
5. Coushatta
6. LA
7. 71019
8. (318) 932-5614
9. *
10. LEWIST@alpha.nsula.edu; GIRR@Pelican.state.lib.la.us
11. *
12. Marvin W. Lewis, III
13. Director
14. Red River Parish history
15. Books/serials
Back to the top
Covington
1. St. Tammany Parish Library
2. *
3. 310 W. 21st Ave.
4. *
5. Covington
6. LA
7. 70448
8. (504) 893-6282
9. (504) 893-6280 ext. 13
10. slou3015@vega.sulu.edu
11. *
12. Lesley Dolinger
13. Reference Coordinator
14. St. Tammany Parish genealogy and history
15. Newspaper; pamphlets/ephemera; photographs
Back to the top
Crowley
1. Acadia Parish Library
2. *
3. P.O. Box 1509
4. *
5. Crowley
6. LA
7. 70527
8. (318) 788-1880
9. (318) 788-3759
10. xxx1140@usl.edu
11. *
12. Ann Mire
13. Assistant Librarian
14. Crowley [La.] - History
15. Photographs; vertical file
1. Crowley Post Signal
2. *
3. P.O. Box 1589
4. *
5. Crowley
6. LA
7. 70526
8. (318) 783-3450
9. (318) 788-0949
10. *
11. *
12. Harold Gonzales
13. Managing Editor
14. Crowley [La.] - history
15. Newspapers
Back to the top
DeRidder
1. Beauregard Parish (Public) Library
2. *
3. 205 South Washington Avenue
4. *
5. DeRidder
6. LA
7. 70634
8. (318) 463-6217
9. (318) 462-5434
10. vickir@beaulib.dtx.net
11. http://www.beaulib.dtx.net
12. Malise Russell
13. Reference Librarian
14. Beauregard Parish
15. Books/serials; cemetery records; media; oral history; vertical files
Back to the top
Delhi
1. Miles-Hannah House Museum
2. *
3. P.O. Box 277
4. *
5. Delhi
6. LA
7. 71232
8. (318) 878-3792 [City Hall]
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Lynn Lewis
13. President
14. Historic buildings - Louisiana - Delhi
15. Artifacts
Back to the top
Destrehan
1. Destrehan Plantation
2. River Road Historical Society
3. P.O. Box 5
4. *
5. Destrehan
6. LA
7. 70047
8. (504) 764-9315
9. (504) 725-1929
10. destplan@aol.com
11. http://www.destrehanplantation.org
12. Nancy Robert
13. Site Manager
14. Early to mid-19th century American decorative arts
15. Archeological records, artifacts, government records, institutional records, maps,
pamphlets/ephemera, photographs
1. German-American Coast Historical and Genealogical Society
2. *
3. P.O. Box 517
4. *
5. Destrehan
6. LA
7. 70047
8. *
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Michael Maurin
13. President
14. Historical and genealogical materials on St. Charles, St. James,
15. Books/serials, census records, photographs
16. Les Voyageurs [quarterly journal]
Back to the top
Donaldsonville
1. Ascension Parish Library
2. *
3. 500 Mississippi Street
4. *
5. Donaldsonville
6. LA
7. 70346-2535
8. (225504) 473-8052
9. (225504) 473-9522
10. passcl@unix1.sncc.lsu.edu
11. *
12. Angelle Deshautelles
13. Library Director
14. Ascension Parish [La.] - History
15. Newspapers [on microfilm]; photographs; vertical file
Back to the top
Eunice
1. Eunice Museum
2. *
3. 220 South C. C. Duson Drive
4. *
5. Eunice
6. LA
7. 70535
8. (318) 457-6540
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Erica Ledoux
13. Curator
14. Local history
15. Artifacts, media
1. Louisiana State University at Eunice
2. Arnold LeDoux Library
3. P.O. Box 1129
4. *
5. Eunice
6. LA
7. 70535
8. (318) 457-7311
9. (318) 546-6620
10. hmendels@lsue.edu
11. http://www/lsue.edu
12. Hal Mendelsohn
13. Reference Librarian
14. Acadian genealogy; Community College Collection
15. Books/serials; oral histories
Back to the top
Fort Polk
1. Fort Polk Military Base
2. Fort Polk Military Museum
3. P.O. box 3916
4. *
5. Fort Polk
6. LA
7. 71459-0916
8. (318) 531-7905
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Dr. David S. Bingham
13. Historian/Curator
14. History of Camp (later) Fort Polk from 1941 to present
15. Artifacts, books/serials, photographs
Back to the top
Franklin
1. Louisiana Landmarks Society, St. Mary Chapter
2. Grevenberg House Museum
3. P.O. Box 400
4. 407 Sterling Road
5. Franklin
6. LA
7. 70538
8. (318) 828-2092
9. (318) 828-2028
10. MLLuke@aol.com [treasurer, Margie Luke or for information]
11. *
12. Craig Landry
13. Tour guide
14. House museum, c. 1851
15. Artifacts, government records, institutional records, maps, pamphlets/ephemera, photographs
Back to the top
Franklinton
1. Washington Parish Library, Franklinton Branch
2. *
3. 825 Free Street
4. *
5. Franklinton
6. LA
7. 70438
8. (504) 839-7805; (504) 839-7806
9. (504) 839-7808
10. *
11. *
12. Brenda Coleman; Bonnie Dier
13. Director; Genealogy Librarian
14. Franklinton and Washington Parish genealogy and history
15. Books/serials; microfilm; photographs
Back to the top
French Settlement
1. French Settlement Historical Society
2. *
3. P.O. Box 365
4. *
5. French Settlement
6. LA
7. 70733
8. (225) 698-9886
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. Mercy Lobell
13. President
14. Local history
15. Artifacts, genealogy records, maps, photographs
Back to the top
Gibsland
1. Mount Lebanon Historical Society/Stage Coach Trail
Museum
2. *
3. Route 2, Box 50
4. *
5. Gibsland
6. LA
7. 71028
8. (318) 843-6455 or (318) 843-6255
9. *
10. *
11. *
12. P.J. Eaton
13. Corresponding Secretary
14. Mount Lebanon genealogy and history
15. Institutional records, maps, photographs
Back to the top
Gilliam
1. Red River Crossroads Historical and Cultural Association,
Inc.
2. *
3. P.O. Box 322
4. *
5. Gilliam
6. LA
7. 71029
8. (318) 296-4303
9. (318) 296-4233
10. *
11. *
12. Karen B. Logan
13. President, Board of Directors
14. local history
15. Archeological records, artifacts, family records, oral history, photographs
16. Artifacts depicting the history and culture of northwest Caddo Parish and the six
communities of Belcher, Dixie, Gilliam, Hosston, Ida, and Mira. Cooperates with LSU-Shreveport
Department of Social Studies regarding the early settlement of the area.
Back to the top
Golden Meadow
1. La Societe des Cajuns
2. Les Memoirs Du Bayou Lafourche
3. P.O. Box 581
4. *
5. Golden Meadow
6. LA
7. 70357
8. (504) 475-5757
9. *
10. morgeron@cajunnet.com
11. *
12. Myrtle Orgeron
13. *
14. Local life and culture
Back to the top
Gonzales
1. River Road African American Museum and Gallery
2. *
3. P.O. Box 1357
4. *
5. Gonzales
6. LA
7. 70707-1357
8. (225) 562-7703
9. (225) 647-5711
10. *
11. *
12. Kathe Hambrick
13. Museum Director
14. African American history and art in Louisiana, especially between
15. Art works, artifacts, documents, photographs
Back to the top
Gramercy
1. St. James Historical Society
2. *
3. P.O. Box 426
4. *
5. Gramercy
6. LA
7. 70052
8. (504) 869-9752
9. (504) 869-9752
10. *
11. *
12. Raymond Poche
13. *
14. Local history
15. Artifacts, books/serials, pamphlets/ephemera, photographs
16. "Cypress and lumber, blacksmith shop, perique tobacco shed, 800 year old sinker
cypress log, 100 year old locomotive, train station..."
Back to the top
Gretna
1. Gretna Historical Society
2. *
3. P.O. Box 115
4. *
5. Gretna
6. LA
7. 70054
8. (504) 362-3854
9. (504) 363-1529
10. *
11. *
12. J. B. Borel
104 Leighton Street
Gretna, LA 70053
13. Archivist
14. Gretna history
15. Pamphlets/ephemera, photographs
Back to the top
Back to the LAMA Homepage
iw November, 1998